Skip to main content

How to watch The Defenders Saga in order on Disney Plus

Charlie Cox in Daredevil
(Image credit: Netflix)

Wondering how to watch The Defenders Saga in order? That's not surprising considering Daredevil, Jessica Jones, and co. have found a new home on Disney Plus.

The shows originally released on Netflix have been renamed "The Defenders Saga", and the ensemble includes Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, The Punisher, and the Avengers-style team-up The Defenders. Each of these series has multiple seasons (except The Defenders) and there are crossovers and links between them all, and they now sit side by side with the rest of the MCU on Disney's streaming service. With all that in mind, you're going to want to watch these in a very specific order. So, for the ultimate guide, read on as we take you through how to watch The Defenders Saga in order, season by season, show by show. 

Also to note: the shows take place after the first Avengers movie, and make various references to the New York incident. However, watching the shows in a full MCU rewatch is quite a challenge, as the references to the wider MCU essentially stop in the later seasons. Still, if you want to know where each of the shows fits into Marvel's wider tapestry, then read our guide to the Marvel timeline.

How to watch The Defenders Saga in order

Netflix's The Defenders

(Image credit: Netflix)

Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, The Punisher, and The Defenders were formerly known as "Marvel's Netflix shows" but that description is hardly fitting now they are on Disney Plus. The watch order starts with Daredevil, the very first show released back in 2015, and culminates in Jessica Jones season 3, which ended Marvel and Netflix's partnership in 2019. 

This order (release) is also the chronological order to watch the series in, and watching in any other order will make The Defenders extremely confusing as that has significant impact on the other shows, particularly Daredevil. 

Those last two may seem a little bit out of place, but – mild spoilers – they both feature appearances from characters from The Defenders Saga. So, if you're going to do a major watch of all the shows, then be sure to check out Spider-Man: No Way Home (annoyingly not on Disney Plus) and the Hawkeye series (on Disney Plus).

Want to watch the Marvel movies after making your way through the Defenders Saga? Here's our guide on how to watch the Marvel movies in order.

I'm the Entertainment Editor over here at GamesRadar+, bringing you all the latest movie and TV news, reviews, and features, plus I look after the Total Film and SFX sections and socials. I used to work at The Independent as a general culture writer before specializing in TV and film